Breaking News Bar
posted: 1/10/2019 3:04 PM

Elmhurst Chamber celebrates 100 years

Success - Article sent! close
Elmhurst Chamber of Commerce

The Elmhurst Chamber of Commerce & Industry will celebrate its 100th annual Awards Gala this month in Oak Brook.

The celebration is set for 5 to 9 p.m. Friday, Jan. 25, in the main floor ballroom at The Drake Oak Brook Hotel, 2301 York Road.

"This is a real showcase event for the chamber," said John Quigley, chamber president and CEO since 1999, "and presents a very special occasion for us to celebrate all that our business organization has accomplished in our Centennial Celebration year."

Quigley said highlights from the past year include a $250,000 capital campaign; organizational and individual award recognition from the Daily Herald/Business Ledger; adoption of tiered dues and sponsorship packages; development and retail sales of an Elmhurst-Opoly board game; hiring new staff members; and membership growth.

During its annual meeting, the chamber will salute the A.J. "Toche" Terrones Business of the Year for 2018; welcome the new chairman of its board of directors, officers and directors; recognize the outgoing chairman, officers and directors; honor the Chairman's Award winner and Ambassador of the Year; and install the 2018 ECCI Civic Hall of Fame honoree.

The event is open to all members of the chamber and their guests, as well as any Elmhurst businesspeople interested in learning more about the group. Tickets are $100 or $190 per couple.

Registration can be completed online via the Upcoming Events calendar listing on the home page at or by calling (630) 834-6060 by Jan. 18.

Elmhurst resident Genie Urick, longtime producer of the "Elmhurst Our Kind of Town" local access cable television show, will be honored as the 27th inductee into the Civic Hall of Fame.

Business of the Year honors will be bestowed upon The Elmhurst Independent, a chamber member since its 2002 establishment by Pete Cruger, whose family previous owned and operated the Press Publications newspaper chain for four generations.

Named in memory of A.J. "Toche" Terrones, who served as chamber president for nearly a decade until his death in July of 1999, the annual award is given based on a member's contributions to the chamber's success, to the betterment of both the business community and Elmhurst community, and impact in their field of business, each in the given year and historically, along with years in business and years as a chamber member.

Betsy Hanisch, a chamber member since the 1980s, will be recognized as the Ambassador of the Year for a record-tying third time (1991 and 1998).

Ambassador of the Year is presented annually for outstanding service.

Lori Murray, vice president and regional manager at Inland Bank, will receive the Chairman's Award.

The award is given annually to a director for outstanding service or to a non-director for praiseworthy contributions or performance.

Established in 1918, the chamber is a voluntary organization of business and professional men and women who work to promote the civic and commercial progress of the community.

The chamber also serves its members through services, programs and events that provide opportunities for networking and referral, business education, development and promotion, governmental representation and community involvement.